Tuesday, 14 August 2012

Review of National Certificates and PC Passport

SQA aims to review each qualification every five years, and this year the National Certificate in Digital Media Computing and PC Passport (a National Progression Award) are due to be reviewed. Hilary and me had a kick-off meeting this morning to commence these large and important projects.

The NC awards (at SCQF Levels 4, 5 and 6) are among the most popular non-advanced qualifications in Scottish colleges, and PC Passport is SQA's most popular vocational Computing qualification, and one of the most popular qualifications SQA has ever offered schools and colleges.

The first stage in any national development is the formation of the Qualification Development Team (QDT), and I will be writing to centres in the near future to ask for volunteers for the QDT for each development. SQA's collaborative model of curriculum development, whereby SQA awards are effectively developed by stakeholders with SQA providing the finance, qualification development expertise and project management, is unique within the UK. I also plan to e-mail centres to ask for volunteers for the QDTs so look out for this e-mail in your centre.

The review will bring both qualifications up-to-date, and reflect the changes in the technological landscape since they were developed. I hope to ensure that they capture all of the exiting developments that have taken place in the last few years, such as Web 2.0, cloud computing, and the shift from offline to online working.

The new awards available to centres from August 2013.

Contact Hilary if you want more information or want to volunteer for one (or both) of the QDTs.

No comments:

Post a Comment